At the MAGA Circus, Even Some of the Crazies Can Prove to Be Crazier Than Others

West Virginia governor Jim Justice threatens another insurrection if Trump doesn’t win in November.

B Kean
3 min readJul 19, 2024

--

Courtesy of Vanity Fair

“I want to talk to you tonight about my relationship with President Trump,” Justice said. “I want to talk to you tonight about an incredible man. I want to tell you the truth about him and his family. He’s tough. He’s super smart. He’s a business guy. But maybe there’s something that you’ve missed, and that is he genuinely cares. He cares about all of us. Every last one of us. And he loves this nation beyond good sense (Justice at RNC).”

Stop giggling.

Even as a kid, I was never too into circuses. I just wasn’t into the whole affair of sad-looking people leaping through the air, hurling their bodies through rings of fire, hoping that they didn’t have a bad landing, which could otherwise result in a cracked head or worse. Nonetheless, one moment always surprised me and left me shaking my head.

Little shocked me at the TNC (Trump National Convention) this past week. As cameras panned the crowd and journalists dared to go down into the scrum of cultists, viewers were regaled with all kinds of crazy shit — almost like it was a real rugby scrum (if you ever played rugby, you…

--

--

B Kean

The past holds the answers to today’s problems. “Be curious, not judgmental,” at least until you have all the facts. Think and stop watching cable news.