58% of Undecideds Think Trump Is Better for the Economy

38% believe he is more qualified to protect American democracy. What’s is going on?

B Kean
5 min readJun 24, 2024

--

Photo by Roberta Sorge on Unsplash

When we first came to Portugal, I marveled at how inexpensive olive oil was. As someone who cooks daily, having access to quality, affordable olive oil made me happy. A 3-liter bottle costs between 16 and 17 euros.

It costs between 29 and 34 today – this happened in two years. This has nothing to do with COVID. Local producers aren’t trying to gouge consumers. It has everything to do with droughts and excessive temperatures, sometimes making it impossible to harvest the olives. Olive oil prices all over the world are increasing in the U.S., and yet no one is ringing the alarm. When I say “no one,” I don’t mean the thinking part of our country. I don’t mean climate scientists; instead, I mean journalists whose words are read or heard by 50 percent of us.

50 percent of Americans, and maybe more, derive all of their facts from the right-wing propaganda of Fox News, Newsmax, and the hundreds of publications and news programs around the country that toe the whack-out-of-their-minds line of modern Republicans and Trump. I don’t expect ever that Fox News will be honest about climate change. Nonetheless, I am more than positive that many who work for Fox accept that…

--

--

B Kean

The past holds the answers to today’s problems. “Be curious, not judgmental,” at least until you have all the facts. Think and stop watching cable news.